This is my first shoot as part of the Table Talks Course I am doing, focusing on the people of Bridgetown and their homes.

Originally I was going to shoot it all at dusk in celebration of the great sunsets we have down here. But being in the land of amazing skies, I decided this was too restrictive and am now going to shoot at any time of the day. This also allows me to take advantage of the fantastic Australian light. Something I was not always blessed with in the UK! It is especially great at this time of year. Being winter the sun is quite low. Its like the land is my studio!

So basically I am opening the doors to everything for the time being. The only constraint is that it has to be based in Bridgetown. I want to use this project as an opportunity to experiment and elaborate.

This is Les at 13 Padbury rd. A lovely man who takes a lot of pride in the upkeep of his house. He also has the most pristine garden.

When I told him I was setting up my tripod as I I didn’t want to make his house look wonky, he replied

‘It is wonky, I built it myself, I didn’t have a clue what i was doing’

And I think this just about sums it up. This house’s history is only with Les, and everything is how it is because of Les.

Leave a Reply

